So, what is the Cloud anyway?

Greetings and Salutations!  As the new Social Media and Product Marketing Manager at Telovations, I am honored to kick-off our Monthly Company Blog Series.  Each month, I will post a 12-blog series on various industry topics, chock-full of statistics, how business is changing, and most importantly – how this all affects you.

Our first series is about “The Cloud.”  If you are like any other professional outside the IT and technology industries, this definition of the Cloud from Wikipedia probably confuses you as much as it confused me when I first started learning about Cloud Computing:

Cloud computing is the delivery of computing as a service rather than a product, whereby shared resources, software, and information are provided to computers and other devices as a metered service over a network (typically the Internet).

And I admit that when I first read that, my reaction was something along the lines of,  “…What?”  So I began research to develop my own definition, and this is what I found….

According to Polycom, with the Cloud I can…

…Create a seamless UC environment that drives adoption through ease-of-use within normal business workflows and ensure interoperation with hundreds of unified communications and business applications….”

While BroadSoft’s cloud product is a “hosted infrastructure that serves as the foundation for…growing cloud-based communications.”

But my favorite definition comes from Cisco Systems, Inc.  They describe the cloud as a “powerful combination of cloud computing, networking, storage, management solutions, and business applications….”

We are moving to an interconnected “world of many clouds,” where people will have access to cloud services anytime, on any device, anywhere in the world.

…And then I brought up my research in our weekly marketing meeting.  I asked the team to give me their definition of the Cloud:

Sean, SVP of Sales & Marketing:

It’s a movement away from having a bunch of stuff in your office; we no longer have to buy all these different things.  The days of CDs are gone…I buy everything on the Cloud. It’s a change in the way you do business

Then he sent me this picture:

It gets rid of this!

Katie, Marketing & Sales Operations Manager:

It’s having the ability to have any software at any time, and any service any place without having to drive to the store, wait in line, buy the CD, install it on my computer, and update and maintain it myself.  That’s huge.

Marc, Director – Product Development

It’s the new platform of choice.  It’s a movement, a collection of services, a collection of apps.  It’s on-demand and device-independent…it’s no longer products on a shelf.  It’s the end of obsolescence.

Now that’s cool!  I think I’m starting to get the hang of this….  The Cloud lets my office phone, my cell phone, my tablet, and my computer talk to each other so I can get my messages where I want them and when I want them.

What’s your definition of the Cloud?

Leave a Reply

